Let’s Dig Right In!

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to visit my blog!  I hope to inspire you to try new things and to share with you my experiences with cooking and crafting while raising my three kiddos.  It’s not always easy but it’s (usually) rewarding!

I thought I’d start you off right away with a recipe I tried a week ago.  I had 3 bananas that were getting very ripe and I had never made banana bread before (at least, not from scratch).  I went to a site that I go to very often to search for a recipe:  www.allrecipes.com.  I always try to look for a recipe that has great reviews and a lot of them.  I mean, how can hundreds of people giving a 4-5 star rating be wrong?

My search resulted in the following recipe and, with 4.5 stars and over 700 reviews, I knew it was the one!  One thing that I really like about reviews on allrecipes is that people make suggestions to improve upon the original recipe.  I’ve seen some complain about this but I try to take a couple different suggestions that seem good and allow me to make the recipe “my own”.  Sure, some say, “why rate the recipe so high if you’re not using the actual recipe?” but I think if the bones of the recipe are good, then a small change here or there shouldn’t matter.

The original, Cathy’s Banana Bread, and here is:

Shelly’s Banana Bread

1 cup mashed bananas (I didn’t measure, just used the 3 I had…was probably more than a cup)
1 cup sour cream
1/4 cup softened butter
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

1. Preheat oven to 400. Grease one 9×13 inch pan, or two 7×3 inch loaf pans.
2. Combine banana and sour cream. Set aside. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla and banana mixture. Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt; stir into the banana mixture. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan or pans.
3. Bake at 400 for 6 min and then, for glass pan, turn down to 350 and for dark/non-stick turn down to 325 and bake an additional 40-45 min. (or until toothpick comes out clean).

Enjoy 🙂

4 comments on “Let’s Dig Right In!

  1. Evette says:

    mmm, looks yummy! Jamie would love it. I’ll have to try it one day I am feeling “gourmet”! : )

  2. Beverly says:

    Yum!!! I’ll have to try this! Looks like it would have a different texture than the one I wrote about over the holidays, and I LOVE trying out different versions of baked goods! So glad you’re blogging…you are so good at cooking and crafting. I’ll be copying many of your creations. 🙂

  3. Evette says:

    Great recipe! I made it for my family yesterday and everyone loved it! Thanks : )

Leave a Reply

