Quiche…Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!

When my daughter was baptized, it was on a Saturday evening, so afterwards we all went to a restaurant for dinner to celebrate.  Then, when my older son was baptized, the church no longer had Saturday evening services so he was baptized on a Sunday morning and we followed that up with brunch at a restaurant.  Recently, for our baby boy, the celebration was held at our house.  We’ve been in our house for a little over 2 years now and it is more spacious than our condo was and we have a huge yard so we have enjoyed celebrating many special occasions here 🙂

I certainly didn’t want to return home from the church with a crowd of hungry people and have to stand at the stove and make them eggs and pancakes and bacon and other various breakfast/brunch goodies and not be able to enjoy the day with everyone!  I read various blogs to gather some ideas on things that I could make ahead and serve room temperature or heat up quickly.  One of the dishes that I made was quiche.  I had never made one before but had heard that it was easy and I figured I could cook them up in the morning before church and just reheat when arriving back home.  I made two different kinds, ham and cheddar and a spinach, feta and cheddar one…the latter was definitely the favorite and the one that I have made a few times since.

Once again, I turned to good ol’ www.allrecipes.com to search for a highly rated recipe.  As per usual, I found one with a lot of reviews suggesting variations and I took a bunch into consideration.  For instance, the recipe only called for cheddar cheese but I saw several people recommend feta, a cheese that I had not been a fan of in the past but I thought it would lend a nice flavor to this quiche.  You can find the original recipe here, Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche and below is what I do (although, this recipe is very forgiving and easy to change up and I have never made it the same way twice).

Shelly’s Fluffy Spinach & Feta Quiche

  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 6 ounces shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese
  • 2 ounces crumbled feta*
  • 1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry**
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion**
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced***
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • (1) 9-inch deep dish unbaked pie shell (if you can find Oronoque Orchard pie shells in the frozen food aisle, they are soooo good!)
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Line a cookie sheet with foil.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together mayonnaise and milk until smooth. Whisk in eggs. Layer spinach, cheese, and onion in pie shell, making several layers of each. Pour in egg mixture. Place quiche on prepared cookie sheet. Cover quiche with foil sprayed with cooking spray (unless you want to lose the top layer of your quiche…yes, been there)
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes. Remove cover, and bake 10 to 15 minutes, or until top is golden brown and filling is set.
* You can add more or less feta, depending on your taste.  The last time I made this, I used an herbed feta.  I also made this quiche once and didn’t have feta on hand so I upped the cheddar and it was still delicious.
** The first time I made this quiche, I used the frozen chopped spinach and raw onion – tasty!  After that first time, I started sauteing the onion in a bit of olive oil and adding in fresh baby spinach or frozen whole leaf spinach – YUM!
*** If you would like another layer of deliciousness, saute some minced garlic along with the onion and spinach
5 comments on “Quiche…Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!

  1. Evette says:

    This is one of my favorite dishes. It is so easy and versatile. It’s always gets a good response when you make it for a crowd…if they only knew!

  2. Saucy Mommy says:

    Shelly, this looks absolutely delicious and fluffy indeed!!! I’m going to try it out this coming Sunday when BIL and SIL come for brunch. It’ll be a good accompaniment to monkey bread. 😉 Would you recommend baking this before the bread (which I think takes 30-40 min, plus 15 min cooling time), then heating briefly before serving? Or maybe I wouldn’t even have to reheat? And, how would you recommend reheating? Thanks for the help!

    • Mmmmmm…monkey bread! ::drool:: Can’t stop thinking about monkey bread! O.K. – onto your question 😉 The quiche stays pretty warm for a good period of time and is still yummy at room temp so I would recommend baking it before the bread but leave off the last 15 min. of uncovered baking time. While the monkey bread is taking it’s 15 min. rest, I would turn the oven back up to 400 and stick the quiche back in to finish it off. At least, that’s how I would do it 😉 Enjoy your brunch with the family!

      • Beverly says:

        Sounds like a plan!! Thank you! I’ll do that exactly…I knew you’d have a good answer. 🙂 I love hosting but admit I’m often stymied by how to time things so everything is heated at serving time. I wish I had two or even three ovens. 🙂

    • Renee says:

      So delish! Highly recommend this dish.

Leave a Reply

