Salted Caramel Sauce

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve made this sauce and I don’t know why because it’s pretty simple and so sinfully delicious!  Folks, I’d eat this off a shoe!  Alright, it would have to be a very clean shoe, but you get the point.  I think I originally searched for a caramel recipe because I had some extra heavy cream in the fridge from a vodka sauce and I wanted to use it up.  I looked through a few different recipes and came across this one from Yummy Supper.  I liked that I had all of the ingredients on-hand (other recipes I saw called for corn syrup, which I didn’t have, or made the idea of cooking the sugar seem daunting) and her pictures really drew me in.

I didn’t want to have to pull out a thermometer or have the fear in the back of my mind that I was going to have a burnt sugar mess on my hands.  This recipe is relatively simple though and can be used in so many ways!  Yes, you do have to stand over the stove and keep an eye on it but it won’t be long before you have homemade salted caramel sauce.  I’m making a batch right after I’m done writing this 🙂

Ingredients  adapted from Joy of Cooking

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (I have used light cream in the past and it works out fine)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • pinch of salt (you can add salt to taste…I add more because I like a salted caramel)

Place sugar in a small heavy sauce pan.  Pour water evenly over the top.  Turn stove top to medium-high heat.  Hold sauce pan by the handle and swirl occasionally until sugar has dissolved (watch carefully because it must be completely dissolved and you don’t want it to burn while it’s dissolving).  Cover pan, turn heat to high, and boil for 2 minutes.  Remove lid and continue to boil until syrup turns brown around the edges of the pan.  Grab the handle and swirl syrup occasionally until it turns a deep amber and begins to smoke (be gentle, folks…melted sugar is HOT).

Remove pan from heat. Add butter. Gently whisk, until all of the butter is mixed in.

Stir in cream.

If sauce becomes lumpy, set pan over low heat and stir until smooth then turn off heat again.  Don’t be upset if the sauce becomes lumpy – it’s happened to me every time.

Stir in vanilla and salt.  

Enjoy on shoe*, ice cream, brownies, I’ve drizzled it over chocolate chip bread pudding, stir it into a cup of hot cocoa, or just eat it off a spoon!

*Disclaimer: Please don’t eat off of a shoe 🙂

4 comments on “Salted Caramel Sauce

  1. Saucy Mommy says:

    So yummy!!!!! I’d drizzle it over ice cream and sliced berries. Ohhhh now I’m hungry!!

  2. Hey Michelle, I’m so glad you like the recipe and thanks for the shout -out:) I know you are new to blogging, and I just wanted to give you a few tips on crediting copyrighted recipes. Under the ingredient list is is good to say where the recipe came from ( and link to it there) and I want to be sure that Joy of Cooking gets credit too. It’s their recipe originally. It would be good to link to Joy of Cooking on Amazon so that people can buy the book if they want.
    I hope you don’t mind me sharing these tips with you. I wish you happy and successful bloggin!
    -Erin

  3. Evette says:

    mmmm….it is wonderful on anything! Especially for a girl like me that really loves that sweet salty combo!

Leave a Reply

