Chaos Ensues

Confession time.  I enjoy cooking.  I enjoy doing crafts.  No modesty here…I usually get pretty good results with both 🙂  I’ve let in the chaos though!  Well, that and laziness.  Even when there were no children in our lives, it was just easier to come home from work and get fast food or take-out.  I swore to myself that once I became a stay-at-home mom there would be no excuse not to cook dinner for myself and my husband (and my children once they were old enough to eat meals).  I went through phases where I would cook and craft a lot.  The desire to cook and do crafts seems to overcome me when I’m pregnant!

For whatever reason, when chaos was at an all-time high…newborn baby boy, 3 year-old son, 5 1/2 year-old daughter, holidays, birthday parties…I decided I would do homemade favors for my son’s baptism and homemade Christmas gifts and go crazy for my son’s 3rd birthday party and start cooking almost every night (I know a lot of you are thinking, “big deal…I have kids and cook every night” but this was new for me) and making breakfasts and desserts.  Oh, and why not start a blog? 😉

My husband is a huge help and works from home a lot and it was easy to get food prepared and do crafts on the weekends while he kept an eye on the kids.  Well, the holidays are over, the big group of birthdays in December have come and gone, my newborn is almost 6 months old, but chaos ensues!  I had an easy newborn.  He threw in a couple curve balls that the other two hadn’t – first cold at 2 weeks old (that’s what happens when you have two older siblings) and extremely fussy in the evenings and the only thing that calmed him was walking around the house or car rides – but he slept a lot and for long periods of time and by 2 months old he was sleeping for like 10 hrs. at night.  Then, teething started and he didn’t handle that quite as well as his sister and brother had and, recently, a growth-spurt that caused evening fussiness again and him waking up in the middle of the night.  Oh, we’re also trying to get him to sleep in his crib and it’s going alright but, well, I’m tired!

The crafting is like non-existent, cooking has fallen to the wayside and my participation in this blog has been lackluster.  The hubby hasn’t been home quite as much lately and dropping the kids off and picking them up from two different schools isn’t helping with me wanting to just be lazy when I am home.  My next blog entry will be less woe is me and will include a recipe from a friend and fellow-blogger, Saucy Mommy, which is easy to get together even when chaos ensues!

4 comments on “Chaos Ensues

  1. Evette says:

    Well take comfort in knowing you are not the only one! As a SAHM I am often shocked that it’s already 3pm, my house is a wreck, the laundry is falling out of the basket and dinner is still frozen. Oh and I think my shower may be growing something. There are days when I feel like I can barely tread water but it won’t always be this hard. I tell myself this time is special. After a crazy day with nutty kids I can’t tell you exactly what makes it special but I am sure I will look back years from now and smile!

  2. Renee says:

    You are awesome no matter how you slice it 😉 xoxo

  3. Beverly says:

    Shelly, you’re truly amazing — I remember you hosted dinner 12 days after Aidan was born or something. You’re, like, my role model. 🙂 You SHOULD take a break once in a while, it’s well-deserved!

  4. Shelly says:

    Thanks, gals 🙂 I appreciate the words of encouragement! I wanted this entry to kind of explain the “chaos” part and not necessarily be a pity party for myself but the ego boost is nice 😉 Being in the company of other great moms is always helpful!

Leave a Reply

