Let Them Eat Cake!

For my son’s 2nd birthday, I decided to try my hand at using a Wilton shaped cake pan.  Not sure why it was this particular birthday that made me decide to do this but he had a thing for trains and that was the theme so I was going with it!  I had seen a couple people do it for their kids and figured, “I can do that!”

I wasn’t going to make things more difficult on myself and try to make a cake from scratch so I just used a boxed cake mix.  I also purchased Wilton Ready-to-Use Decorator Icing and gel icing colors.  I also recently started using the icing tubes if I need a deep color like red or black.  I have made a couple cakes since my son’s train cake and even ventured into one involving cupcakes and a small round cake and a semi-homemade one that was so moist and delicious!

I don’t have any “during” pictures but enjoy the pictures of the results 🙂  I hope they inspire you to try some cakes for your special someone(s)!

My first cake!

 

Cake I made for a friend's baby shower

 

This is the cake using the delicious semi-homemade batter.

 

Hungry Caterpillar for a special girl in my life 🙂

 

5 comments on “Let Them Eat Cake!

  1. Renee says:

    Beautiful and delicious! True talent!!

  2. Evette says:

    They are all so pretty!!

  3. Samantha says:

    I LOVE the blog! The cakes look so great. Matthew would love the train one!

  4. These cakes are adorable!

Leave a Reply

